MR DWI/FLAIR Measurement V1.0

K230552

Olea Medical · cleared 2023-04-26 · product code LLZ · Radiology

FDA 510(k) summary for MR DWI/FLAIR Measurement V1.0 (K230552)

Constat organizes this clearance into predicate context, validation evidence, reported performance, postmarket signals, and reimbursement links. Each extracted claim stays tied to the public FDA source; missing fields remain explicitly unstated.

Validation studies
1
Cited predicates
2
Performance observations
1
Product code
LLZ

Premarket evidence — what FDA accepted

Device typesamd
source quote (p.3)
“MR DWI/FLAIR Measurement V1.0 is an image processing application indicated for use in the analysis of: (1) MR Diffusion-weighted imaging (DWI) (2) MR FLAIR images.”
Algorithmdeep learning algorithm
source quote (p.6)
“This deep learning algorithm filters the surrounding noise and excludes background pixels on raw images for MR DWI series.”
Adaptive (vs locked)FDA source did not state this
PCCPFDA source did not state this
Cybersecurity addressedFDA source did not state this

Validation studies (1)

Retrospective clinical

sample size not stated

endpoints: Bland-Altman analysis for relative FLAIR; DICE indexes for ADC hypointense area segmentations; Bland-Altman analysis for normalized FLAIR

Reported performance (1 observation)

diceas written: “DICE indexes for ADC hypointense area segmentations”stated without valueCI 0.816 to 0.976
source quote (p.7)
“DICE indexes between ADC hypointense area segmentations on FLAIR images generated with both devices were excellent, ranging from 0.816 to 0.976.”

Each value carries its own analysis unit and task — never compare or pool across devices. Source: 510(k) summary PDF.

Predicate network

Postmarket — what happened after clearance

25
recalls in product code, 24mo
397
MAUDE reports in code, 12mo
+963%
vs code's own 3-yr baseline
31
drift signals on this device
  • predicate_cohort_contagion

    K230552 shares predicate K152602 with K211431 (breastscape v1.0), whose product code QIH recorded 1 recall event(s) in the trailing 24 months.

    first seen 2026-09-02 · predicate:K152602 sibling:K211431

  • recall_reason_pattern

    Software/algorithm-related recall in product code LLZ (Merge Healthcare, Inc., initiated 2026-07-22): "Software issue may cause measurements to be displayed inaccurately." Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.

    first seen 2026-09-02 · recall res_event_number:99520

  • recall_reason_pattern

    Software/algorithm-related recall in product code LLZ (FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation, initiated 2026-07-22): "Software issue may cause the ruler measurement to be inaccurate." Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.

    first seen 2026-09-02 · recall res_event_number:99529

  • recall_reason_pattern

    Software/algorithm-related recall in product code LLZ (Merge Healthcare, Inc., initiated 2026-06-30): "Merge Healthcare has identified a potential issue that may cause thumbnails from a previously opened patient study to be displayed in the Thumbnail Bar while a different patient st" Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.

    first seen 2026-09-02 · recall res_event_number:99391

  • recall_reason_pattern

    Software/algorithm-related recall in product code LLZ (Boston Scientific Corporation, initiated 2026-06-19): "Software anomaly occurs when a user adds one or more vials to the cart and subsequently returns to the Activity Calculator to modify one or more input. When a user modifies an inpu" Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.

    first seen 2026-09-02 · recall res_event_number:99236

  • adverse_event_inflection

    MAUDE adverse-event reports for product code LLZ: 295 in the 12 months ending 2026-06, vs a 37.7/12mo average over the prior 3 windows (+683%). Code-level count — reports are not attributed to this specific device.

    first seen 2026-07-08 · openFDA /device/event.json count=date_received product_code=LLZ

  • …and 25 more.

Recall and MAUDE counts are product-code-level (reports aren't reliably attributable to one device); a recall is shown as device-attributed only when the recall record itself lists this clearance number. Signals are descriptive observables with sources — never a judgment that the device is unsafe or drifting. Snapshot 2026-09-02.

Reimbursement — how devices like this got paid

Not yet tracked — no payment pathway indexed for this clearance (the reimbursement corpus is a growing seed set).

Applicable FDA guidance — what the submission is measured against

FDA guidance documents and guiding principles applicable to 510(k) AI/ML devices in the Radiology panel. A curated reference index, not legal or regulatory advice — each item states its own status, and a draft is never binding.

Applicability is derived from the device's FDA advisory panel and pathway — cross-cutting guidances apply to every AI/ML device; panel-specific ones are flagged. Titles, dates, and links verified against fda.gov as of July 2026.

Related FDA clearances

These are recent clearances in the same FDA product-code category. Shared classification does not by itself make a device an appropriate predicate.

Constat Precedent · public FDA/CMS data · descriptive decision-support, not regulatory or reimbursement advice. Share this page: constat.dev/precedent/device/K230552