Brainlab Elements Image Fusion, Contouring (4.5);Image Fusion (4.5);Fibertracking (2.0);BOLD MRI Mapping (1.0);Image Fusion Angio (1.0)

K223106

Brainlab AG · cleared 2023-07-14 · product code QIH · Radiology

FDA 510(k) summary for Brainlab Elements Image Fusion, Contouring (4.5);Image Fusion (4.5);Fibertracking (2.0);BOLD MRI Mapping (1.0);Image Fusion Angio (1.0) (K223106)

Constat organizes this clearance into predicate context, validation evidence, reported performance, postmarket signals, and reimbursement links. Each extracted claim stays tied to the public FDA source; missing fields remain explicitly unstated.

Validation studies
1
Cited predicates
2
Performance observations
0
Product code
QIH

Premarket evidence — what FDA accepted

Device typesamd
source quote (p.3)
“Brainlab Elements are software applications indicated for the processing of medical image data to support the intended user group to perform image guided surgery and radiation treatment planning.”
AlgorithmConvolutional Neuronal Network (CNN) developed using a Supervised Learning approach.
source quote (p.6)
“The AI/ML algorithm is a Convolutional Neuronal Network (CNN) developed using a Supervised Learning approach. The algorithm was developed using a controlled internal process that defines activities from the inspection of input data to the training and verification of the algorithm.”
Adaptive (vs locked)No
source quote (p.6)
“The training process begins with the model observing, learning, and optimizing its parameters based on the training pool data. The model's prediction and performance are then evaluated against the test pool data. The test pool data is set aside at the beginning of the project.”
PCCPNo
Cybersecurity addressedYes
source quote (p.12)
“Software verification verifies all specifications, including SOUP items and cybersecurity.”

Validation studies (1)

Bench

sample size not stated

Reported performance (0 observations)

FDA source did not state a quantitative performance metric — non-reporting is itself the signal.

Each value carries its own analysis unit and task — never compare or pool across devices. Source: 510(k) summary PDF.

Predicate network

Postmarket — what happened after clearance

1
recalls in product code, 24mo
4
MAUDE reports in code, 12mo
—
vs code's own 3-yr baseline
2
drift signals on this device
  • re_clearance

    The FDA AI/ML device list shows a newer 510(k) K243633 (decision 2025-06-13) from Brainlab AG for a matching device line ("Brainlab Elements (7.0); Brainlab Elements Image Fusion (5.0); Brainlab Elements Image Fusion Angio (1.0); Brainlab Elements Contouring (5.0); Brainlab Elements Fibertracking (3.0); Brainlab Elements BOLD MRI Mapping (1.0)") — a new clearance for the same line is a change event.

    first seen 2026-07-08 · k_number:K243633

  • recall_reason_pattern

    Software/algorithm-related recall in product code QIH (PIE Medical Imaging B.V., initiated 2026-05-07): "User measurement value reported by diagnostic bioimaging software intended to measure/visualize cardiovascular structures may be larger (0.8% to 34.4%) than the actual anatomical d" Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.

    first seen 2026-08-26 · recall res_event_number:98930

Recall and MAUDE counts are product-code-level (reports aren't reliably attributable to one device); a recall is shown as device-attributed only when the recall record itself lists this clearance number. Signals are descriptive observables with sources — never a judgment that the device is unsafe or drifting. Snapshot 2026-08-26.

Reimbursement — how devices like this got paid

Not yet tracked — no payment pathway indexed for this clearance (the reimbursement corpus is a growing seed set).

Applicable FDA guidance — what the submission is measured against

FDA guidance documents and guiding principles applicable to 510(k) AI/ML devices in the Radiology panel. A curated reference index, not legal or regulatory advice — each item states its own status, and a draft is never binding.

Applicability is derived from the device's FDA advisory panel and pathway — cross-cutting guidances apply to every AI/ML device; panel-specific ones are flagged. Titles, dates, and links verified against fda.gov as of July 2026.

Related FDA clearances

These are recent clearances in the same FDA product-code category. Shared classification does not by itself make a device an appropriate predicate.

Constat Precedent · public FDA/CMS data · descriptive decision-support, not regulatory or reimbursement advice. Share this page: constat.dev/precedent/device/K223106