KOSMOS
K193518EchoNous, Inc. · cleared 2020-03-26 · product code IYN · Radiology
FDA 510(k) summary for KOSMOS (K193518)
Constat organizes this clearance into predicate context, validation evidence, reported performance, postmarket signals, and reimbursement links. Each extracted claim stays tied to the public FDA source; missing fields remain explicitly unstated.
- Validation studies
- 1
- Cited predicates
- 2
- Performance observations
- 0
- Product code
- IYN
Premarket evidence — what FDA accepted
source quote (p.4)
“KOSMOS consists of a tablet and probe, which connects to the tablet via a cable. Its accessories include a power charger, ECG cable, and binaural headset. KOSMOS can operate on battery or while connected to mains. The probe face houses an ultrasound transducer and sealed microphones for auscultation. The tablet can display clinical and patient data information including the display of ultrasound images, auscultation and ECG waveforms, and patient data/reports.”
Validation studies (1)
Bench
sample size not stated
standards: ANSI AAMI ES60601-1:2005/(R)2012 ANSI AAMI ES60601-1:2005/(R)2012 and A1:2012, C1:2009/(R)2012 and A2:2010/(R)2012 (Consolidated Text) Medical electrical equipment - Part 1: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance (IEC 60601-1:2005, MOD), ANSI AAMI IEC 60601-2-27:2011(R)2016 Medical electrical equipment - Part 2-27: Particular requirements for the basic safety and essential performance of electrocardiographic monitoring equipment (limited set of test requirements), ANSI AAMI EC53:2013 ECG Trunk Cables And Patient Leadwires (limited set of test requirements), ANSI AAMI IEC 60601-1-2:2014 Medical electrical equipment -- Part 1-2: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance -- Collateral Standard: Electromagnetic disturbances -- Requirements and tests, IEC 60601-1-6 Edition 3.1 2013-10 Medical electrical equipment - Part 1-6: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance - Collateral standard: Usability, ANSI AAMI IEC 62366-1:2015 Medical devices - Part 1: Application of usability engineering to medical devices, IEC 60601-2-37 Edition 2.1 2015 Medical electrical equipment - Part 2-37: Particular requirements for the basic safety and essential performance of ultrasonic medical diagnostic and monitoring equipment, NEMA UD 2-2004 (R2009) Acoustic Output Measurement Standard for Diagnostic Ultrasound Equipment Revision 3, IEC 62359 Edition 2.1 2017-09 CONSOLIDATED VERSION Ultrasonics - Field characterization - Test methods for the determination of thermal and mechanical indices related to medical diagnostic ultrasonic fields, ANSI AAMI IEC 62304:2006/A1:2016 Medical device software - Software life cycle processes [Including Amendment 1 (2016)], ANSI AAMI ISO 10993-1:2009/(R)2013 Biological evaluation of medical devices - Part 1: Evaluation and testing within a risk management process, ANSI AAMI ISO 14971:2007/(R)2010 (Corrected 4 October 2007) Medical devices - Applications of risk management to medical devices
Reported performance (0 observations)
FDA source did not state a quantitative performance metric — non-reporting is itself the signal.
Each value carries its own analysis unit and task — never compare or pool across devices. Source: 510(k) summary PDF.
Predicate network
Postmarket — what happened after clearance
- predicate_cohort_contagion
K193518 shares predicate K180995 with K200232 (LVivo Software Application), whose product code QIH recorded 1 recall event(s) in the trailing 24 months.
first seen 2026-08-26 · predicate:K180995 sibling:K200232
- re_clearance
The FDA AI/ML device list shows a newer 510(k) K233826 (decision 2024-08-29) from EchoNous, Inc. for a matching device line ("Kosmos") — a new clearance for the same line is a change event.
first seen 2026-07-08 · k_number:K233826
- re_clearance
The FDA AI/ML device list shows a newer 510(k) K212100 (decision 2021-08-06) from EchoNous, Inc. for a matching device line ("Kosmos") — a new clearance for the same line is a change event.
first seen 2026-07-08 · k_number:K212100
- adverse_event_inflection
MAUDE adverse-event reports for product code IYN: 604 in the 12 months ending 2026-06, vs a 298.7/12mo average over the prior 3 windows (+102%). Code-level count — reports are not attributed to this specific device.
first seen 2026-07-15 · openFDA /device/event.json count=date_received product_code=IYN
- recall_reason_pattern
Software/algorithm-related recall in product code IYN (Philips Ultrasound, LLC, initiated 2025-10-31): "Ultrasound system compatibility issues with Apple devices running iOS 18 may cause a failure to perform live imagining." Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.
first seen 2026-07-08 · recall res_event_number:97843
- recall_reason_pattern
Software/algorithm-related recall in product code IYN (GE Medical Systems, LLC, initiated 2025-09-18): "The Ultrasound-Guided Attenuation Parameter (UGAP) measurement data may display inaccurate values representing liver steatosis. This could potentially lead to inappropriate clinica" Recalling firm is another firm in the same product code.
first seen 2026-07-08 · recall res_event_number:97726
- …and 2 more.
Recall and MAUDE counts are product-code-level (reports aren't reliably attributable to one device); a recall is shown as device-attributed only when the recall record itself lists this clearance number. Signals are descriptive observables with sources — never a judgment that the device is unsafe or drifting. Snapshot 2026-08-26.
Reimbursement — how devices like this got paid
Not yet tracked — no payment pathway indexed for this clearance (the reimbursement corpus is a growing seed set).
Applicable FDA guidance — what the submission is measured against
FDA guidance documents and guiding principles applicable to 510(k) AI/ML devices in the Radiology panel. A curated reference index, not legal or regulatory advice — each item states its own status, and a draft is never binding.
- Final guidanceRadiology-specific2022-09Computer-Assisted Detection Devices Applied to Radiology Images and Radiology Device Data - Premarket Notification [510(k)] Submissions
Radiology CADe/CADx · Software premarket content
Original July 2012; current database date reflects a Sept 2022 reissue. Governs CADe device 510(k) content.
- Final guidanceRadiology-specific2022-09Clinical Performance Assessment: Considerations for Computer-Assisted Detection Devices Applied to Radiology Images and Radiology Device Data in Premarket Notification (510(k)) Submissions
Radiology CADe/CADx
Original July 2012, revised 2020; current database date Sept 2022. Covers standalone and reader-study performance assessment for CADe.
- Final guidanceRadiology-specific2022-06Technical Performance Assessment of Quantitative Imaging in Radiological Device Premarket Submissions
Quantitative imaging · Radiology CADe/CADx
Final (June 2022). Relevant to devices outputting quantitative imaging measurements.
- Final guidance2026-01Clinical Decision Support Software
Clinical decision support · SaMD (general)
New final guidance issued Jan 2026, superseding the Sept 2022 version; narrows the device-CDS scope. Applies to software that informs clinical management.
- Final guidance2026-01General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices
SaMD (general) · Clinical decision support
Revised final (Jan 2026); now addresses noninvasive products estimating physiologic parameters (SpO2, BP, glucose). Reshapes the device / non-device line for AI wellness features.
- Final guidance2025-09Computer Software Assurance for Production and Quality Management System Software
SaMD (general) · Postmarket
Final (Sept 2025). Covers software used in production/QMS (incl. ML development-pipeline tooling), superseding Section 6 of the 2002 GPSV — not device software functions themselves.
- Final guidance2025-06Cybersecurity in Medical Devices: Quality Management System Considerations and Content of Premarket Submissions
Cybersecurity · Software premarket content
Reissued June 2025 (retitled 'Quality Management System', was Sept 2023 'Quality System'); adds coverage of FD&C Act §524B cyber devices.
- Final guidance2024-12Marketing Submission Recommendations for a Predetermined Change Control Plan for Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Device Software Functions
Predetermined Change Control Plan · AI/ML lifecycle · Software premarket content
Final (Dec 2024). Supersedes the April 2023 AI/ML PCCP draft.
- Final guidance2023-10Electronic Submission Template for Medical Device 510(k) Submissions
Software premarket content
eSTAR has been mandatory for 510(k)s since Oct 2023 — operationally unavoidable, though not AI-specific.
- Final guidance2023-08Off-The-Shelf Software Use in Medical Devices
Software premarket content · SaMD (general)
Final (Aug 2023). Applies when a device incorporates off-the-shelf software components (common in ML stacks).
- Final guidance2023-06Content of Premarket Submissions for Device Software Functions
Software premarket content · SaMD (general)
Final (June 2023); replaced the May 2005 'Software Contained in Medical Devices' guidance. Documentation level drives the software content of the submission.
- Final guidance2022-09Policy for Device Software Functions and Mobile Medical Applications
SaMD (general) · Clinical decision support
Current version Sept 2022. Frames which software functions FDA regulates as devices.
- Final guidance2021-10De Novo Classification Process (Evaluation of Automatic Class III Designation)
De Novo pathway
Final (Oct 2021), issued with the De Novo final rule. Most relevant to first-of-a-kind devices without a predicate (DEN-numbered clearances).
- Final guidance2016-12Postmarket Management of Cybersecurity in Medical Devices
Cybersecurity · Postmarket
- Final guidance2002-01General Principles of Software Validation
SaMD (general) · Software premarket content
Still active except Section 6 (superseded Sept 2025 by the Computer Software Assurance final guidance).
- Draft guidance2025-01Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Device Software Functions: Lifecycle Management and Marketing Submission Recommendations
AI/ML lifecycle · Software premarket content · Transparency
Draft as of July 2026 (published Jan 2025); finalization is on CDRH's FY2026 agenda but not yet published. Treat as FDA's stated direction, not a binding expectation.
- Draft guidance2024-08Predetermined Change Control Plans for Medical Devices
Predetermined Change Control Plan · Postmarket
Draft (Aug 2024) extending PCCPs beyond AI to all devices under FD&C §515C; not final as of July 2026.
- Guiding principles2024-06Transparency for Machine Learning-Enabled Medical Devices: Guiding Principles
Transparency · AI/ML lifecycle
- Guiding principles2023-10Predetermined Change Control Plans for Machine Learning-Enabled Medical Devices: Guiding Principles
Predetermined Change Control Plan · AI/ML lifecycle
FDA/Health Canada/MHRA joint principles (Oct 2023); companion to the GMLP and Transparency principles.
- Guiding principles2021-10Good Machine Learning Practice for Medical Device Development: Guiding Principles
AI/ML lifecycle · SaMD (general)
FDA/Health Canada/MHRA joint principles (Oct 2021). Foundational, not a binding guidance; IMDRF issued a related GMLP document Jan 2025.
Applicability is derived from the device's FDA advisory panel and pathway — cross-cutting guidances apply to every AI/ML device; panel-specific ones are flagged. Titles, dates, and links verified against fda.gov as of July 2026.
Related FDA clearances
More AI/ML devices under product code IYN
These are recent clearances in the same FDA product-code category. Shared classification does not by itself make a device an appropriate predicate.
Alturion Series Diagnostic Ultrasound System
K260667Philips Ultrasound, LLC
cleared 2026-06-29
ACUSON Sequoia Diagnostic Ultrasound System;ACUSON Sequoia Select Diagnostic Ultrasound System;ACUSON Origin Diagnostic Ultrasound System;ACUSON Origin ICE Diagnostic Ultrasound System
K260844Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
cleared 2026-06-16
EPIQ Series Diagnostic Ultrasound System, Affiniti Series Diagnostic Ultrasound System
K253595Philips Ultrasound, LLC
cleared 2026-03-27
Butterfly Gestational Age Tool
K252148Butterfly Network, Inc.
cleared 2026-03-27
LOGIQ Vita; LOGIQ Vita Pro; LOGIQ Vita Express; LOGIQ Vita Plus; LOGIQ Vita Power; LOGIQ S20; LOGIQ S20 Pro; LOGIQ S20 Express; LOGIQ S20 Plus; LOGIQ S20 Power
K260673GE Medical Systems Ultrasound and Primary Care Diagnostics
cleared 2026-03-24
Sonio Detect (v3)
K252433Sonio
cleared 2026-03-16
LOGIQ Totus
K253370GE Medical Systems Ultrasound and Primary Care Diagnostics
cleared 2026-01-08
LOGIQ Fortis
K253366GE Medical Systems Ultrasound and Primary Care Diagnostics
cleared 2026-01-07